Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Any real need for a 30+ pin?

Handcannon

I started shooting that bow I bought last spring because I now have the arrows I plan to use. I bought some carbon & shoot 100 grs. I shoot up to 20 yds w/ the 1st pin, 25 & 30 w/ the 2nd pin. I'm having fun getting back into bowhunting, it's all coming back to me. This bow is 65# w/ a single cam & far faster than the last bow I had, also shoots much flatter. I'm comfortable up to 30 yds. What do I do w/ the 3rd pin? How many of you shoot beyond 30 yds? What are the odds of just injuring a deer at 30+? I see some TV pros w/ 50 yd pins. But really...
crazy.gif

i shoot my bow out to 90 yards.... its all about practice and just because i can shoot that far doesnt mean i will take a shot at an animal at that distance.... the most ill go is 50 maybe 55 depending on conditions but like i said it comes down to practice and whatever you feel comfortable with....

Like Shack said, go as far as you are comfortable. Shack actually got me started at the longer distances and shooting at 60 yrds plus has made it a whole lot easier at the average ranges you see/shoot deer in Iowa. Around 20 yrds. That kill zone looks HUGE!

I have always used a 20,30,40 yrd pin but rarely use the last 2, but you sure would like to have them if you needed them.

If you never plan on shooting past 30 yards I would for sure set you hunting rig with one pin, making it dead on at 24-25yards.

[ QUOTE ]
If you never plan on shooting past 30 yards I would for sure set you hunting rig with one pin, making it dead on at 24-25yards.

[/ QUOTE ]

I agree