Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Crop rotation from milo to alfalfa

Keef

I have 4 acres currently planted in milo. Next spring I'd like to plant alfalfa in this field. Of course I'll get a soil report but normally will I have to add much fertilizer and lime to get the alfalfa going?

This field is on a hill top and so drainage should be good which I understand is good for alfalfa, is that correct?

Any tips on alfalfa I should know? I plan to have a local farmer cut and bail the alfalfa if that is necessary or would it be sufficient to just cut it? If so what length should I leave it during the summer?

This is my first year of aggressively planting food plots and I've had a blast and learned a lot, but I've still got a lot more to learn. This forum has really been helpful.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Keef</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have 4 acres currently planted in milo. Next spring I'd like to plant alfalfa in this field. Of course I'll get a soil report but normally will I have to add much fertilizer and lime to get the alfalfa going?

This field is on a hill top and so drainage should be good which I understand is good for alfalfa, is that correct?

Any tips on alfalfa I should know? I plan to have a local farmer cut and bail the alfalfa if that is necessary or would it be sufficient to just cut it? If so what length should I leave it during the summer?

This is my first year of aggressively planting food plots and I've had a blast and learned a lot, but I've still got a lot more to learn. This forum has really been helpful. </div></div>

I have a lot of great links and information in our thread on Alfalfa which should be helpul in answering your questions.