Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Did I find your deer's blood trail this AM?

BugleMIn

I was walking out of my hunt area this morning and came across a blood trail. It was close to the boundary so I didn't think much of finding it. The blood was darker red and I followed it 50 yards expecting to find a gut pile, but kicked up the deer. Unfortunately all I saw was the tail. The blood increased after I kicked it up, but decided to sneak out and not screw up somebody's day anymore than I already did.

Thou it would be nice if they called for permission before tracking it on the land I control.

I assume the deer was shot on Vern Flynn's land on the raccoon river west of Des Moines. I saw a pickup parked in Vern's beanfield.

BMIN,
Do you know the Flynn's? I graduated with kyle and just spoke with him a few days ago about hunting that ground. It appeared that somebody is already hunting it so it must be you? Small world,

BT

BMIN, It would be a good idea for people to check for permission to track on land that you control but I am pretty sure that as long as they don't carry there weapon into that area that they do not need permission to track a wounded animal. Correct my if I am wrong anyone! It is the right thing to do to check and let someone who owns the land that you want to track an animal that may have crossed over but I don't think they need permission.

I don't hunt the the Flinns land. I spoke with Mrs. Flinn today and she wasn't sure if anybody had permission to deer hunt in there. She thought all their hunters were working this week. I hunt next to the Flinns.

Trper, the law kinda says that, but no game warden will tell you the hunter has that right. Look at the story behind the big buck SE of Des Moines, the hunter had to buy his rack back from people who were trading it for snowmobiles, and other stuff.