Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Fertilizer prices

turkeyriver

PMA Member
I'm a farmer and prepaid my fertilizer for this spring in Dec. 07. What prices have done since then is scary but my supplier assured me we haven't seen anything yet. You can't stockpile nitrogen but can buildup your P and K levels. If you are fertilizing this spring, you might consider putting 2 yrs. worth on now, while it is cheap!

That's scary! Urea was running 800/ton when I picked some up a couple weeks ago.

Would urea keep in 55 gallon drums, or would it degrade?

I would think it would degrade in the air.I had some in bags before and it ate right through them.I think you would be hard pressed to keep it around for long? I will get it and put it right out.
doug

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turkeyriver</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> If you are fertilizing this spring, you might consider putting 2 yrs. worth on now, while it is cheap! </div></div>

We are out of the cheap stuff, and our MAP is 930 bucks a ton. Stand back because the potash is what is going to be out of control.

Unfortunately, DAP in my area is $1040/ton and potash is $860/ton. I was qoted $808/ton on Urea in bags. I took a gamble earlier (when Dap was $600 and potash was $400) and bought some of next year's needs. So far I look smart but its not next year yet.

I have kept DAP, Urea, and AMS in sealed containers from year to year. Moisture is the enemy. The barrels were poly with lids that seal. Same with my 5 gallon buckets.

Excuse my ignorance but why would potash prices be so high? Would wood stove ashes do anything for food plots or gardens?

Have any of you guys ever used bottom ash from a power plant for a ph controller as well as a fertilizer?