Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Fletching arrows with your wild turkey feathers?

NebraskaWhitetail

Does anyone here fletch their own arrows using the primary wing feathers from wild turkeys that they have harvested? I'm pretty new to archery, but I'd like to use the wild turkey feathers I've saved from my harvests to fletch my next dozen carbon arrows and would like some advice on what kinds of fletching jigs to use and any other tips of tricks. I've found a few websites on how to do this, but there's no substitute for talking with someone who has tried it.

Did it a few years ago. Used what I think was called a Lil Chopper. You put the wing feather in and hammer the cut. I think they are some of the best looking arrows I have made.
426DSCN0039.jpg

Re: Fletching arrows with your wild turkey feather

Those do look good, Ryan.

Were you able to get more than one finished feather from each wing feather?

I've read about the Lil' Chopper tool and will have to get one.

How did you do the sanding? By hand or with a belt sander?

Re: Fletching arrows with your wild turkey feather

I don't remember how many out of each feather. Also....if I recall correctly Limb had a company that if you sent your feathers in they would prep them and send them back to you. This was a couple of years ago as well. The Lil Chopper was manufactured somewhere in Iowa and I bought the one I used on ebay.

Here is the best thing I have found...send em here and have some extra time to shed hunt or whatever else you want to do... grinding and cutting yourself is time consuming and in my opinion not worth the time when you can send em to truflight...scroll down towards the bottom of the page on the link. Good luck!

truflight FAQ