Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Help a new bowhunter out!

D

draker110

This is my first year of bowhunting, and am looking for a good deer. I have an excellent small chunk of timber to hunt in central Iowa. It's about 68 acres, and there are a lot of good deer in the area. I know this from past shotgun hunts, and just haven't seen any this year. Even during the rut, I just haven't seen the quality bucks that I know are there. Any thoughts or ideas on what I could do. Have tried all aspects of calling and doe scents but to no avail have seen only small bucks. Time is running out on the best time of the season and I need help, any input is appreciated. Thanks.
smile.gif

Trust me your not the only one that is having this problem. I haven't seen anything big out of my bow stand this year and last year I saw probably 6 bucks that would be 140 and up and this year I have yet to see one that is in the 130's. Not sure what is going on but I am sure running out of time faster that I like. Something needs to happen and happen soon.
confused.gif

I am also new to the site, and this was probably the wrong place to make this post, any thoughts on where to put this post to get better results??
confused.gif

Hang in there...the big guys might be tired down with does right now.... if you are seeing does, stay put, the larger deer will start cruising again!

I have had the same view this year on my hunting grounds....bucks just did not make themselves visible like they had in the past....even the trail cams were slow this fall. My does sightings were down tremendously as well this fall???????

well Ive hunted hard this year, did miss a 15 yd. shot 140 class, who put that tree there anyway. 2nd was last thursday, didnt even get my bow off the ground and to my stand for a afternoon hunt, a nice 14 pt came out 35 yards to my left.
confused.gif