Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

How long? What has changed?

K

Keystone

I have been bowhunting in Iowa for 27 years.
How long have you been bowhunting and what has changed since you started bowhunting in Iowa? Looking for the (+) and (-)!

I have only bowhunted one year and look forward to many more. I think I got beginners luck though. I shot a spike buck. I am really going to find it hard to pick up a shotgun or "muzzleloader" again. Well maybe the muzzleloader. But standing in that tree when a deer comes up is like a whole new feeling. I don't think anything can replace the way I felt when I released the arrow and watch it hit its mark. The excitement almost drove me to jump out of my stand. Sorry I couldn't tell you what I think has changed, maybe in a few years.

36 years of bowhunting . More bowhunters, more deer, quicker kills and better bowhunter ethics now days. When I started you may only see one deer every two weeks are so, you took the shot at it be it at 10 yards or at 50 yards because, you may not see one for a another two weeks and there where a lot more outlawing going on to get shots, lots of big deer drives see them with 50 bowhunters togetter and when we went out of state where there was lots of game some would go crazy shoot at every thing that moved, wood arrow where $16.00 a hundered and some would lose all of them in a week of hunting out of state.

[This message has been edited by Bowdon (edited 03-10-2002).]

Whitetail hunting for 36 years....bowhunting for 16 years. Biggest difference, hunting then was like driving on I-80 at 4am.....now it's like driving on I-80 during game day for the Iowa-ISU football game.

30 years bowhunting in Iowa. Deer herd quality greatly improved. Number of bowhunters greatly increased. More focus on success and scores than the challenge of the hunt and comraderie.

My first year bowhunting but things are just gonna hopefully keep getting better.