Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Kinetic energy

jharrell

I have a question for those of you who have a better grasp on this subject. What is a good range in ft/lbs of kinetic energy?

I'm betting this topic will get a variety of responses.

KE calculations indicate my traditional equipement throws an arrow that carries about 37 ft/lbs. This has usually always meant pass through shots with 2 and 3 blade heads on whitetails.

In my experience, 37 ft/lbs will get the job done well.

Curious to here others thoughts.

26404-archer[1].gif
157RAtinybuck-thumb[1].gif

i was figuring out my kinetic energy the other day and it looks like im around 57.7 ft/lbs. i also read somewhere sposedly 45 minimum deer and 55 minimum for big game, but 37 sounds good to me, if it kills deer!!!!
smile.gif

I am a rather short strong person and have been my whole life. I started shooting bow very young. Dad said I can hunt when I could pull 40 lbs.I could pull enough poundage, but had trouble finding a bow that fit me. 40 lbs at a 20 in draw length was hard to find. We finally had a guy build me a bow. I have no idea what the KE would have been on that setup though. I wouldn't think it would be 45 or more, but a two blade, close range, and only a good angle can and will do the trick.
smile.gif
smile.gif
smile.gif

Are you wondering if you can still throw your Clinometer hard enough to create enough K/E to take a deer or what? It's been almost a year since you hurt your arm. Tell me you didn't challenge your wife to another arm wrestling match?
doah.gif

No Rack I gave that up after she ripped my arm off last year. We leg wrestle now. I think I could beat her if she didn't out weigh me by a couple hundred pounds. Yes sir, nothing like a corn fed Iowa women!!!
grin.gif

As far as the clinometer goes I am getting to be a pretty good shot with that thing. I wonder what the K.E. would be for something that ways over 5000 grains.