Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Late Muzzleloader Tactics

Mandity

I was curious at to what alot of you fellow Iowa hunters tactics were for the lets say first 5 days of late muzzy were. Especially after the last 3 weeks of shotgun. This is my first year hunting with a muzzy. Usually go shotgun but couldnt do to work. Any input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks and good luck to you.

I usually give a break for a few days and let them move back into the timber. Maybe do some glassing to see where they are moving. Some snow would help get them on their feet and out in the picked fields.

Mobile Cooter using IW

I do the same as cooter. Give them a few days to call down and establish a pattern. I spend most of this week glassing in the evenings. Warm temps and no snow will make it tougher than the last few years.

It really depends on the property. If you have untouched property the deer are acting normal for the most part. If you had a 20 man drive through it yesterday I would probably wait a few days.

Find a buck on a pattern first. Gain permission. Go Kill.

I spend most of the late season behind binos. I have a feeling this year I will not be killing a deer.

Without snow, it may be a bit more difficult to "see" a good buck on a food source. I usually spend a lot of time glassing from the truck until I find what I want, but this year will be different.

I'm letting my cams due the scouting right now on food sources and I will be hunting my bow stands in the timber until we get bad weather. The deer will be in thick bedding areas right now and will still be picking through the acorns on the oak ridges. My strategy will be to hunt them like I would during bow season until we get the weather that forces them to the food. :way: