Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Managing Deer

Big Timber

Just wondering if anyone manages their deer herds. I would like to start managing deer but my land is frequented by trespassers. The only management I have now is passing up on the younger bucks and only taking 8pt or better. I've heard that to successfully manage a deer herd I need a 1:1 buck/doe ratio. Can anyone confirm this? Any tips or advice is appreciated. Thanks

BT

Big timber Im no expert and havent got the ground to try it on but ive read a lot on the subject.1:1 ratio is ideal but awfully hard to get and maintain without letting a lotta guys in to shoot does every year.With a 2:1 or 3:1 ratio youll still have a pretty well balanced herd and should see lots of action during the rut.

Its also important to hold the deer on your land, they need plenty of food, bedding areas, and water to last them through the year.It does you no good to manage them if theyre just gonna wander off the property and get shot.With foodplots, and selectively cutting trees to open new browse up on your land you can cover the food.By placing a chunk off limits to hunting that has good bedding ground in it you give them a place where they feel safe and dont need to move elsewhere, you can change this around every year if you want.

The tresspassers are a different matter, you might wanna consider prosecuting a few of them, maybe others will take the hint and stay out.Maybe you could talk to a state biologist and he could give you a better or more detailed plan thasn i have, i was just highlighting a few points.Good luck
wink.gif

Big Timber,