Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Newbie, please help

bushman

OK, i'm new to the thought of managing a property for deer. My family has private land in west central MN and we've always just hunted it. As of late i have thought more and more about making the habitat more condusive to the deer population. I'll try and describe what i have to work with the best that i can. Like i said, i'm extremely new to managing ground for a deer population so i want to start with some baby steps.

The ground i want to work with is rolling prairie hills with wooded valleys and draws. There has always been a lot of sumac on the hills but now it seems to be taking over. It is thick and over 6 feet tall in a lot of places. Also, a lot of the wooded areas have become overgrown with buckthorne. we have tried cutting it to open up areas but it just seems to come back stronger. My thoughts are that the burckthorn and sumac should be cut back or eliminated (please correct me if i'm way off base here) what is the best way to accomplish this? I should also mention that this is a 100 acre area within the city limits that we need special permits to hunt. I don't know that burining would be feasable.

Thanks in advance for the ideas. I know some of you on here are very well versed in these issues.

I'm no expert but i know the deer around my area love sumac as a winter browse, it doesn't provide alot of cover though and i would think that a large expanse of it would not be the best in means of habitat. The sumac on my property primarily grows along the field edge and thus it is not something that i have ever worried about.
Buckthorn is nasty stuff and is highly invasive, you definitely don't want to just cut it down or it will come back ten fold from it's root system. I'm not certain what chemical treatment would be your best bet for control but i would think someone else with a little more experience will chime in.