Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Question for you experienced whitetail hunters

sofakingfast_1

well me and my friend were out this morning checking traps and seen 3 fresh scraps within 20 yards of each other. pretty cool looking with 3 inches of snow around it. but anways he swears up and down that deer arent still in rut. and that no one has ever rattled in a buck during first shotgun season. i told him he was wrong it happens every year. he has been hunting since he was 6. and ive been hunting for a few years. so he has more experience than me and likes to remind me. but im pretty sure that a FEW bucks are still rutting. Am i wrong? and im sure a few people in here have rattled in a buck in december havent they? fyi im from southeast iowa. i dont know if its different in other parts of iowa or not.

Deer are in Rut until they are dead....That is my conclusion. I have seen bucks work scrapes until they drop their horns. I have seen bucks chase does in January. The bucks are always looking.

usually around a month after the peak rut there is the second rut. that happens when the does that did not concieve during the first round come into heat a second time....bucks love it....ive seen a few bucks chasing this week up here in wis and one was grunting just like in early nove....good luck guys

I've seen a bunch of scrapes get freshened this week. There are still does to breed.

A couple guys I know that are veteran bowhunters told me that they have had more success rattling in bucks the last week of December than any other time of the season. They said this has been consistent for 30 years. They siad if you are hunting between X-mas and New Years, DO NOT LEAVE THE HORNS IN THE TRUCK!!!!

there that term is "In Rut"

the bucks will show rutting activity as long as they feel un-bred does still frequent the area.....

the deer dont live on a schedule, if you are seeing scrapes it is for a reason.