Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Remington 870 load and choke

mole

I bought a remington 870 mag last year. I never got to shoot it at turkeys. I use to shoot a single shot 10 gauge, but had surgery last year and that took care of the BIG gun. Does anybody have a good combo that works well for the 870? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

mole

I have an 870 wingmaster. I use the full choke that it came with. For shells I use Winchester 3in #5's. I started hunting turkeys 4 years ago. With this combination, I have never missed a shot, killing 1 turkey each year with one shot. I however, don't shoot past 35yards. I am going to experiment with some Hevi-shot this year. I have read that a standard full choke works well with that also.

Hey moleson
My brother-in-law shoots a good ol' 870 and he uses an HS Strut Undertaker choke tube and 3in Remington 4x6 duplex loads. Patterns really nice with 3in 4's as well, but have yet to call a bird in to him. Hopefully I will get one within gun range for him this year. It seems like I always get my bird when he isn't around.....
So will you be hunting in and around George's this spring?
Talk to ya later.

I have a 870 Super Mag and use the rem full choke. I had the best luck with 3 inch #5. They had the best pattern for my gun. I also like to use the 3.5 #5 cause its fun to shoot. good luck.

eme226 - you must be a glutton for punishment with those 3 1/2's.

I shoot an 870 Wingmaster (full) but it's only chambered 2 3/4. I use the copper-plated #5 Winchester turkey mags and it patterns well. Took a 23-lb tom last year at 37 yds.