Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Was pondering this... states obligation to non residents

So I know a bunch of nrlo’s in Illinois and I can assure you none of them are “coastal elites”. Not saying you couldn’t possibly have some of that but that’s not typical. These are mostly blue collar, hard working, small to medium sized business owners or managers that are ate up with big white tails and managing the land. Just like my perception of pretty much everyone on this site.

Ive always believed that regardless of the Midwest state you want to pick but especially IL or IA, PURELY from a quality of hunting standpoint (I realize there are other factors like newfarmer pointed out with access) give me a piece of property in a square mile that’s owned exclusively by non residents. You want these folks as your neighbor if you like killing big deer.

And I’m no tax expert but I’d suspect that a nrlo pays at bare minimum the same amount of tax as a resident assuming the properties are identical (in your case you are comparing a residence to ag land so of course they’d be different in that scenario).
I pay around $10k annually in nrlo taxes in Illinois. Can’t imagine paying that and being told I can only fish or trap or hunt squirrels or pheasants or pick morels or shoot coyotes or turkeys once every 5 years on my own land (assuming my neighbor next to me gets to do these same things every year). Just seems like the most un American thing I can think of.

I see what you are saying, but I have to compare to someone owning a house, because residency either requires you do that or rent and pay someone else’s residential taxes.

Coastal elites may be the wrong term, but either way, outside money will outcompete the guy working at the Co-Op all day.