Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Water hole question!

Wi transplant

PMA Member
Im looking at installing a burried water hole tank on my new farm this spring. My question for anyone whos done this is it ok to use southern iowa rual water ? Or do i need pond water? Wondering if clorine and other stuff in rural water has a negative effect on deer
use?? Looking for experience not opinions! Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk

I've watered deer with SIRWA water. They drink it fine. Filled sprayer and back over kidder pools and pull drain. Pretty certain any chemical burns off quickly as it doesn't take long for algae to start.

I’ve been filling mine with SIRWA water for 3 years. They drink it just fine…in fact they hammer them…even with several natural water sources available. Several deer we know very well have used them from the start and continue to, so no health issues for the deer that are obvious.

About as cheap of a water hole a guy can make. $15?

SIRWA water. Tons of traffic.
1000091157.jpg

I’ve got tanks all over my farm. A variety of 110 gal. And some 300 gal. Again, I also have multiple natural water sources, creeks, ponds, etc. But in my experience (been putting water tanks out for 10 yrs or so) they become very habituated and dependent on the tanks. It’s often the very first think they do when entering a plot - go straight to the tank and drink. I would recommend burying, or at least partially burying for two reasons, 1. Much easier to fill. 2. You can see how difficult it can be for fawns at a 300 gal tank, and once the water line is down 6”-8” it gets harder. Be sure and place a log or similar so the coons, squirrels, etc can escape. Even the turkeys use my tanks consistently. Funny to see 4 or 5 old Tom’s perched on the rim of the tank.
IMG_6063.jpeg
8253C3BE-DCF3-43F1-B300-4FA78E6B583B.jpeg