Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

what is the biggest turkey u guys have shot

bighunter

This is my first year turkey huntin and i was just wonderin what the biggest turkey u guys have ever killed.If u want u can tell me some tips on turkey huntin and some tips on how to use moth calls.

My biggest turkey came last year. A 26.5lbs, 10.25 inch beard and 1.5 & 1.25 inch spurs. As far as tips go: I use primos calls. But that's a personal preference. Use what you feel comfortable with. At first I bought a couple of primos videos and when they used the calls I had in the video, I would pause the tape and try to make the exact same sound. I then did the same with a CD. I also read every magazine and internet article that I could find on the topic, and still do. Finally, I scout alot. Probably more days than I hunt. Good luck. It is addicting also. I was hooked the first morning when I hit my owl call and 3 owls went nutz in the valley. Not to mention every gobble that I've heard since.

...my first two tukeys were both 26lbs...I haven't shot any bigger in the following 13 springs...though, I am much more impressed with the spur length...they give me a better idea of how many hunting seasons they have likely survived...

...as for mouth calls I think it is best to get comfortable with having it in your mouth before you worry too much about how you sound...when I buy a new mouth call I usually trim the tape (not the reeds) to make it a little smaller so that it doesn't feel so cumbersome...I also will chew on the remaining tape some to make it a little more flexible...once it feels good practice - practice - practice!...

...if there is a secret to turkey hunting its scouting...just like Waukon I scout more days than I hunt...get to know your hunting area then get to know where the birds like to spend their days...good luck!...

Alex,