Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Favorite Muzzleloader loads

bplate

Im kind of new to muzzleloader hunting and have just purchased the new Traditions Vortek. I am wondering what some of your favorite bullets are and how many grains of powder work the best. Thanks

My old traditions liked the Hornady 240 gr 44 caliber xtp sabots over 100gr pyrodex pellets. I tried some 295gr powerbelts one year and they wouldn't group well at all. I just bought a CVA Accurra this fall and it hated the Hornady's so I tried the powerbelts I had left and they grouped well, still over 100gr of pyrodex pellets. I have read mixed reviews on the powerbelts performance if you push them to hard, some claim they fragment and don't pass through. I killed a deer last night with one at 75yds shot in the should and no exit wound, lots of lead fragments inside but it died in 30yds. Muzzleloaders are like any gun, you have to try a variety of bullets and powder charges to find what works best.

I need help on the same thing. Im going to sight mine in in the next couple of weeks. Right now Im shooting 250gr Knight bullets with 110gr of lose powder. But im not sure if thats good enough for shooting 150-200 yards

I also just bought a Traditions Vortek this year and mine is shooting well with Hornady SST 250gr with 100 gr Triple 7.. I think Im going to re-sight it in with 150 gr Triple 7 though because I have a Nikon Omega scope on it and the little rings inside of the scope are meant for a 150 gr charge and 250 gr bullet.

i'm ordering my vortek this week. i plan on getting traditions 250 grain jacketed lead soft points and shooting 150 grains of poweder