Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Turnip and rapeseed into standing corn

I am somewhat new to food plots and I am looking for a little advice. I just gained permission from the farmer to plant some turnips and rapeseed into his standing corn. My questions are will they grow? When should I plant them and what rate should I seed them at? I am looking to do around an acre or so, possibly more. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Hit or miss depending on canopy of corn (sun) & not quite as bad but dependent on residual herbicide. I walk through all my spots deer & coons wreck and lightly scatter bout 2-3 lbs radish & 1.5 lbs turnips. Find clean spots with sunlight & just scatter lightly and u will likely b fine. I doubt herbicides will be a big problem. If canopy is issue - if gets really late u can do winter rye. Later the calendar gets on brassicas - stager higher rates of radish as they mature faster.

I wouldn't spread winter rye unless u check with the farmer first. He may not want to deal with it in the spring.

I wouldn't spread winter rye unless u check with the farmer first. He may not want to deal with it in the spring.

The only issue I could see is if the farmer was no tilling next year, if they will be discing the field next spring cereal rye will only help the soil. I would lean towards cereal rye over brassicas when spreading into corn only because it can grow more once the corn is picked whereas brassicas would be too late.

I plan on broadcasting cereal rye into corn on our bottom ground, I've seen a lot of deer all winter feeding on rye.

I wish I could plant rye but he is a no-till farmer so I don't want to bother asking him. Brassicas are basically my only option. Unless you guys have other ideas for an annual that I could try.