Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

150 vs 100 grain debate??

Sligh1

Administrator
Staff member
So, I hear this often. i'm not a ML expert by far as I spend vast majority of my time bow hunting. I will say, I've always been on the 150 grain end of this discussion though. My buddy the other day tried to tell me I should reduce down to 100 grains for all sorts of reasons from accuracy to overkill to not being able to burn all the powder anyways.

My pespective... 4 different guns now, me and my family all shoot 150 grains and it's SUPER ACCURATE. I KNOW my gun shoots FLATTER & FARTHER than the 100 grains, by a substantial amount when i tested on my own. I don't care if I "over-kill" a deer (If I had a rifle, I'd be fine with a .375 H&H if they had soft tips for example :) ). I have more friends that lose deer VS my worrying about "over-killing" a deer. So, if folks have super accuracy, flatter trajectories and better stopping power, why would I switch (per my buddy's point of view)??? I've heard folks say the accuracy isn't as good BUT I watch tons of guys shoot great groups with 150 grains (yes, anyone I've talked to no matter what they are shooting has to find right match or right bullet). PERSONALLY- the kick from 150 grains is nothing that bugs me either- nothing VS my shotgun. If I know I'll shoot FLATTER, FARTHER and have MORE POWER, I'm having a tough time seeing why I would ever change?

BUT- I know there's 2 sides to this and I hear passionate discussion from both sides. What's your point of view, what you prefer and why?

Last edited: