Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Chestnut trees

Bryan95

I've been growing oak trees in rootmakers for about 4 years now and I've began to want to get more diversity and have found a lot of good info on chestnuts and it has really interested me and I would like to hear more from others. My limitation is I don't have a local source to collect chestnuts from like I do with acorns, I don't have a problem buying some but chestnut seedlings aren't cheap compared to bareroot trees. For others growing chestnuts, where have you been getting your trees or seed? What varieties should I look for? From what I've been hearing is that many people like chestnut trees over oaks for deer, so I think they would be a great addition along with the oaks on the farm

Lots of seed when they start dropping on ebay. I've gotten some from chestnutridgeofpikecounty.com. also. Expect a learning curve on watering. Chestnut likes dry roots. I've done Miracle Gro before but have went to a more porous potting medium. Been raising Dunstan's but looking to add chinese so all the eggs aren't in one basket. Good luck.

Dunstans are susceptible to winter die back as well. I had a number of seedlings that I started from seed last year. They all experienced winter die back, as we all know it wasnt a typcal fall and winter for the upper Midwest though last year. I believe the Chinese chestnuts might have better cold hardiness.

I've been looking at Chinese chestnuts because they seem to be easier to buy and cheaper then dunstans and don't have to worry about blite. When is a good time to plant them?

Timing? Same as any tree, spring or fall. I've found chestnuts to be a medium to difficult tree VS others for being "fussy". Like Goatman said, water & soil type can be an issue FOR SURE. I've had to experiment to get mine tweaked.