Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Chichaqua Bottoms

DeerHunter3

Anyone have any input on the hunting at chichaqua? Lot of pressure? Looks like a good area...I'm new to this part of the state and was simply just looking for opinions on this area.

Buddy tried to bow hunt out there and said lots of people walking their dogs so yes lots of pressure. Worth a shot though.

Haven't really hunted it since college, but I avoid all areas within 45 minutes of the DSM area anymore. Especially if it's flat, close to a highway and easily accessible. Even past 45 min there are good and bad spots though. My best public area has pretty good hunting pressure and I had more squirrel hunters than deer on my last camera pull. There are overlooked pockets where people don't go though, find those and you'll find big bucks.

Looks like a great area if you used a boat to get further back away from the pressure. There's a lot more hunters that wouldn't be willing to walk that far back into a public area. Not to mention if you're further back the people walking their dogs or hunters could push deer your direction. I think if I were to hunt that area I'd be putting in a 14 of 16 foot flat bottom to get to the back areas.

To me some of the area looks super tough to get to, which is what im interested in! My problem may be getting across the south skunk river, not sure how deep it normally is but right now its roaring! Ive got to assume there a trophy caliber bucks around there as the area is giant! Maybe someone can shed more light on this that has hunted there?

Make sure you know all the controlled hunting and special refuges out there. If some one was willing to work at it and get back in away from the dog walkers you could have some great hunting. I've seen some good ones out there while duck hunting.