Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Complete novice need help withfood plots

DARTONJAGER

Greetings to all from a Hoosier. I must say I greatly envy your superb management of your states deer herd especially how tightly you control non resident numbers and do not have a fire arm season during the rut. I wish my home state of Indiana was as wise.

As I never have nor do I plan to do so in the distant future do any deer hunting in your state I joined this website on the advice of others at the bow hunting website "The Bow Site" in my efforts for educating myself on how to plant food plots. I have always thought about deer hunting in Iowa, but I simply don't have the time now or even in the distant future to even consider doing so.

Now to my reason for joining your website. I just was granted permission two days ago to hunt a 60 acre block of private woods in my home state about a 3hr 20 minuet drive from my home. It is old Peabody coal company land. It is comprised of almost entirely of dense woods with a lot of thick under brush. The property's entire eastern border is an old blade road that was created to allow drag lines to travel from area to area. It has access on all sides and is surrounded by areas of far more dense woods than open areas. Per the land owner this blade road is about 50 yards wide and runs the entire length of the lands east border.

This "blade road" road is still maintained by the land owner and the natural growth never gets much above ankle height maybe a little higher. There is very little in the way of agriculture or crops with in 2-3 miles in any direction.

Now for what I need help with. I know basically nothing about creating food plots and the land owner strongly suggested I do some frost seeding of red or white clover in some small areas in the blade road based on the deer sign I find.