Concealed Carry Course online?

Discussion in 'Iowa Whitetail Conference' started by Sligh1, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. Sligh1

    Sligh1 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,403
    Likes Received:
    1,991
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Central, IA
    Hey guys...
    I'm very well versed in firearms and very well versed in law, defense, iowa's laws on home invasion (not like Castle-doctrine which we don't have & I suppose conceal carry is irrelevant here any way), etc. In my case, I personally feel ok doing the online course. What's the basics of finding a VALID online course and is there any steps in process I should be made aware of? Some courses not accepted or some more expensive than needed? Any help on getting permit appreciated, thanks!
     
  2. AdBot Guest Advertisement

  3. meyeri

    meyeri PMA Member

    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Central Iowa
    I went to 10-8 firearms instructions .com. https://10-8firearmsinstruction.com/

    Accepted in all Iowa counties, $25 bucks, all online and very informative and to the point. My wife did it as well.
     
  4. arm

    arm Leg

    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    south central iowa
    I have been thinking about this as well and following the replies here
     
  5. elscott11

    elscott11 PMA Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Central Iowa
    10-8 Firearm Instruction. Has a Facebook page to follow. I had a few questions for the guy and he responded quickly.
     
  6. loneranger

    loneranger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Iowa
    Is this just a renewal or firstime ccoarse? Thanks.
     
  7. Cooter

    Cooter Active Member

    Messages:
    2,575
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    I was told you don't have to retake the class for renewal.
     
  8. HorseDoctor

    HorseDoctor PMA Member

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    317
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Central Iowa
    Wrong! Plus, you have to take it & renew less than 30 days PRIOR to the time your current permit expires. No "grace" period like a drivers license!
     
  9. Bowhunter500

    Bowhunter500 Member

    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oskaloosa,IA
    This is wrong. If you want to renew, you have to do it more than 30 days before your permit expires and can use your "first time class certification". If you are within that 30 days, you are required to have the renewal class. If you just let expire, you can use your old certification from your first class to re-up.

    Renew using first certification:
    - More than 30 days from expiration
    - Let their permit expire

    Renew with renewal course:
    - Within 30 days of expiration.
     
  10. Handcannon

    Handcannon Active Member

    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Woodbury Co.
    I took the 10-8 class for my renewal, $15. Very informative about Iowa laws that were never covered in my 1st class. Learned a lot.
     
  11. loneranger

    loneranger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Iowa
    I may have missed it,but can you take this online coarser your first permit?
     
  12. Cooter

    Cooter Active Member

    Messages:
    2,575
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    Well I guess you better go school the lady at the sheriff's office. I'm inclined to think she knows what she is talking about and knows the rules.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
  13. Handcannon

    Handcannon Active Member

    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Woodbury Co.
    RENEWALS
    QUESTION: I have a Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons that will be expiring in the next 12 months. What
    do I need to do to renew the permit?

    ANSWER: Iowa law specifies that an application to renew a permit must be submitted AT LEAST 30 days prior to
    the expiration of the current permit. An application submitted LESS THAN 30 days prior to the expiration of the
    current permit, or after the permit expires, cannot be accepted as a “renewal” application. Instead, it would need
    to be submitted and processed as a “new” application, which carries a higher fee.

    QUESTION: Do I need to complete another training course to renew my Nonprofessional Permit to Carry
    Weapons?

    ANSWER: Iowa law specifies that to renew a Permit to Carry Weapons, a person must complete any of the
    acceptable forms of training, OR, at the discretion of the applicant, the applicant may instead choose to qualify
    on a range under the supervision of a certified instructor. Iowa law does not prescribe a particular course of fire,
    so the instructor determines what constitutes qualification. The completion of another training course OR
    qualification on a range must occur within the 12 months prior to the expiration of the current permit. Since an application for a renewal must be submitted AT LEAST 30 days prior to the expiration of the current permit, this
    effectively leaves an 11 month window in which a person must complete training OR qualify on a range.

    QUESTION: What happens if I do not submit my application for renewal AT LEAST 30 days prior to the
    expiration of the current permit?

    ANSWER: If a person waits until LESS THAN 30 days prior to the expiration of the current permit, or after the
    permit expires, the application will need to be submitted and processed as a “new” application. In such case, a
    person would be required to submit proof of training. There is no timeframe specified for when the training must
    have occurred. A person who misses the “renewal” window and files an application as a “new” application
    cannot present proof of qualification on a range to satisfy the training requirement, unless qualification is part of
    a training course. In other words, the option to simply qualify without completing a training course is ONLY
    available to those who are renewing a permit.
     
  14. meyeri

    meyeri PMA Member

    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Central Iowa
    Yes, you can take it for your first CC permit.
     
  15. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Member

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    iowa
    got to www.carryiowa.com this is where i took mine as like you i am well versed in firearms...you register, pay 30$, watch a 50 minute video and take a 20 question test and thats it...easiest thing in the world, then you just take your certificate to the sheriffs dept and get your permit...its literally that easy.......but this class is no recommended for people who knowing nothing or who have never fired a weapon
     
  16. loneranger

    loneranger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Iowa
    Thanks for that info!
     
  17. fatboy

    fatboy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Iowa
    If you are prior military, just need to take in your DD214 to the sheriffs office to obtain a cc permit.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice