Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

CRP Mowing

gundog870

Premium Platinum Member
Mowed some first year crp tonight (CP2 - Big blue, Switch, etc), was planted May 14th, but here is my question:

My top fields are looking great, at least I think (Could be foxtail for all I know, I'm new to this). But the bottom field looks like crap. All weeds, hardly any grass, just junky looking. That field is in a bottom, is an East facing bowl. Is it possible that the top lighter soils are that much warmer and causing better growth so far? Also, I was able a to only knock about 6 inches off the grass and clear out most of the weeds up top- hoping the grass blows up now. The bottom, I mowed pretty short because of the limited grass.

Top field
13521856_10209348297322635_1530307063567198445_n.jpg

Bottom field- Junk
13439020_10209348309322935_5664701690825548999_n.jpg

You need to pull samples of those grasses on the top field. Do a little research as to what the ligules, hair on leaves, etc. looks like between annual grasses and natives. If that top field is all foxtail I would much prefer the condition of the bottom field.

The difference in what is growing could simply be based on soils or sun but also the history of the fields, what kind of disturbance they've had in recent history, yada yada. I wouldn't worry too much, it's really hard to screw up a simple grass seeding like that. I've seen many do just fine that never got a maintenance mowing.

Wouldn't expect to see much topside growth from a month old WSG planting, they will grow root system first. As far as the "weeds" go, most are probably beneficial to the wildlife as food , nesting and brood rearing.