Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Field work rates

W

WI Shedhead

I have 2 parcels close together that I want to put into food plots in the spring. They are both 1/2 acre and are easily accesible. They have not been tilled in at least 10 years and are currently covered in CRP type cover. The farmer lives 1/2 mile from my house. I don't have any equiptment to till the ground but will broadcast seed,fertilizer, and spray myself. I have access to a deck mower that I will clear the fields with. How much should I expect to pay to have the farmer come over and work the 2 1/2 parcels?

This is my first try at foodplots and I want to do it right and not waste any money if possible.

Should I have him disk it or deep fork it? Or just ask what he thinks?

Thanks for any advice

WI Shedhead

157RAtinybuck-thumb[1].gif

I'd expect to pay a bit more than custom rates for 2 plots of 1/2 acre. Depending on his equipment it can take longer getting turned around and situated than actually putting iron to the ground. As far as what to do- it depends on what you want to grow and other plot prep. It will make a difference on how you plan to kill existing sod and keep weeds down.

I agree with Pharmer, it might be tough to get someone to do an acre or two for the custom hire rates but you can at least use the Iowa State numbers as a starting point. Some farmers might not consider it worth their time. You might get lucky and find a local farmer who likes deer/deer hunting who might plant it for free. A neighbor was kind enough to do that for me years ago.