Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Fletching

N

nanook

Hi. I'm new to bowhunting this year and looking for advice on replacing arrow vanes and/or fletching. What do you guys do? Thanks.

Nanook, Are you wanting to know what is better or how to fletch them yourself? I personally use a Jojan Multi Fletch. It does 6 arrows at a time. When I got it, I was using Fletch Tite glue and it took a while for the arrows to dry so haveing a multi setup was handy. Now I use AAE Fastset Gel. It's a super glue type adhesive and sets up in 5 seconds and works equally well on carbon or aluminum shafts. All that to say, if you use the Fastset Gel, (you can get it at Wal-Mart in the sporting goods when they have there hunting stuff out)you can use a single Fletch setup and still do a half dozen arrows in a few minutes. (I use an 11 degree right helical fletcher.) As far as Vanes vs. feathers go, vanes are much cheaper and in my opinion are a much easier to work with. My personal preference are the Tru-Flight 4". Another advantage to vanes is they do better in wet weather as oppossed to feathers that can get a little soggy. Feathers are supposed to be easier to tune and if your shooting a recurve off a "shelf" then they are a must. Feathers are lighter in weight than a vane too, and in theory should shoot faster, but they don't because of the wind drag on them that the vanes don't have. I've shot identicle grain weight arrows, half with feathers and the others with vanes and the vanes shot consistantly higher groups, about 2" higher at 25 yards. It all boils down to personal preference though so you'll have to see what works best for you. I hope this is what you wanted to know, if not, I got to practice my typing. Good Luck!!!