Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Greetings and a ?

K

Kat

Hi everyone. I've enjoyed reading the posts on this board for some time now. This site is great! I've been hunting for about 9 years. Got my first deer in '99, a 7 point buck w/my bow. An 8 point w/shotgun in 2000, and in '01 a doe w/bow and a huge 9 point w/shotgun. Just a little background info.

But now the time has come to stop being shy. I need to ask for the opinions of the muzzleloaders here. My fiance wants to start hunting. He wants to start with muzzleloading. In the Cabelas clearence catalogue they have a Remington model 700 ML Magnum w/a free 209 conversion kit for $399, and a Knight Bighorn Magnum that has the 209 ignition for $199. I know that the Remington is a good gun. It's also $200 more.

So how 'bout it? Which would you choose?

Thanks,
Kat

I think it worth it, but if you look more you can probably find the remington for under $300 and spend $35 on a conversion kit. I picked up 2 rem 700 this last summer for $279.99.

If he hunts with freinds he might want to consider what they are using also, so if he gets into the field and forgets something he can borrow one of theirs.(caps or quick loader tube)

Hey Smokepole, where'd you get your rems from? Do they all go on sale in the summer?

We wanted to get a ml that was good for a begginer, but I'd rather pay a bit more for quality then get a cheep one that he'd want to upgrade in a year or two. I know that Knight has a good reputation, but I'm afraid of the whole "get what you pay for" deal. Just wondering if it'll be worth it to spend the extra money on the 700.

Thanks!

Go with the Knight. Its a better gun and you won't have trouble with it not firing like a lot of Remingtons tend to do.

Hi Kat.

Here's my .02 cents worth. The best quality has never been too good.