Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Here's your Taxidermy list.. Check it TWICE!

AIRASSAULT

PMA Member
Because of a controversial taxidmery topic on the Kisky site, I decided to make a list of things to look for when choosing a taxidermist. Some of the info pertains to that site because I am just going to copy and paste my thread from there. I figured some of the newbies may like to learn what to look for /forum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/cool.gif

"With all the hype that the current taxidermy post is causing, I figured I would put together a list of things to look for the next time you step into a taxidermist's showroom. To prevent any credibility issues on my part, I am a 2006 Winter session graduate of the Northwest Iowa School of Taxidermy... Here's part of what 10k taught me...

EARS:
Try this on your own mounts at home and ask a new taxidermist if you may do so to some mounts in his show room--- Take your thumb and forefinger and pinch the ear (thumb on the inside, forefinger on the back). Pinch all the way up and down each ear. If it does not feel thin and solid and has a bubbly feeling and crackling noise, this is known as Drumming.. a.k.a Bad work! A mount with drumming ears usually means that the taxidermist didn't prep the ear liners well enough or just plain rushed the job and didn't make sure the adhesive was dry enough to continue.
Make sure the ear butts are level from side to side and not too far back on the skull and not too far forward.
Most deer have small black hairs that line the outer edge of the ear. Make sure this hair forms a nice, straight, smooth line all around the outer edge of the ear.
The ears should obviously be rotated down enough to prevent it from cupping water..
EYES:

Look for symmetry between the two. Make sure the front corners of each eye are level with eachother as well as the back.