Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Iowa Permit to Carry weapons Courses

IAJack

Hello,

First post here. I am one of the founding members of Iowa Carry who helped to enact the "shall issue" permit to carry weapons law here in Iowa. I have been an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor for 10 years and am now giving classes that meet the required training towards the Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons.

Under the new law that goes into effect in Jan. everyone will My need to either take a course or shoot for qualification regardless of having a current permit or applying for a new permit. No shooting test is required for a new permit.

My course is around 4 hours in length with no live fire required. I cover a lot on the legal and liability aspects of carrying a weapon.

I would be glad to try to answer any questions and my full course schedule can be viewed on my website at:

www.hawkeyefirearmsinstruction.com

Shall issue.....w/ strings attached.

I've already live fired & taken a class w/ a written test. Passed both. Now I've got to pay a teacher to do it again?

I personally think it is crap that you have to have a permitt at all to have a concealed gun. If it is legal for me to own it I should be able to carrry it. I have recently heard that a lot of the southern states are trying to do away with the concealed weapons permitt. Mr. Jack, I beleive that is the type of law you should be fighting for, not making it harder and more expensive for law abidding citizens to carry. IMO.

I personally think it is crap that you have to have a permitt at all to have a concealed gun. If it is legal for me to own it I should be able to carrry it. I have recently heard that a lot of the southern states are trying to do away with the concealed weapons permitt. Mr. Jack, I beleive that is the type of law you should be fighting for, not making it harder and more expensive for law abidding citizens to carry. IMO.