Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Making changes/what first?

ironwood

To set this up my son's and I have been shooting for about a 1 1/2 years. We hunted last season and had a few missed opportunities, but are completely hooked. I am considering what I can do to improve my skills between now and next fall. I've just read an article in Bowhunting Magazine and though I'd try to make some changes. The bow I am shooting was bought used and I am shooting it just as it was setup with the exception of an added release loop on the string. The arrows are 340’s with 100 grain tips and I am using a high quality trigger style release.

Here is a list of things I am considering changing:
- new lighter arrows
- switching to a back tension release
- switching from three pins to a single pin on sights
- working on form from a stand

Let me know what you think. I am getting some advice from a local shop as well and wanted to use the resource or knowledge of you Iowawhitetailers.

ironwood,
What is the draw weight on your bow? Is it a single cam? What is your draw length?

There are a few things I would try first before you go out and spend a bunch of money on equipment. Your trigger release should be fine I have used one for years and love them (great for hunting situations). The biggest thing you can do is shoot from your tree stand and work on your form. If your bow is set up correctly and arrows are spined right any set-up will shoot bullet holes. As much as a gadget freak as I am I will be the first to admit that good shooters can shoot any bow that is set up right.
grin.gif