Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Mineral Recipe (Much better than Dical and Mineralized Salt)

I have been tweaking variations of this for several years, but finally settled on a recipe. I have sites set up in every place I hunt, I freshen these up in mid to late March, and then again in mid June. The Mix that I use is:

1-50 lb bag of NutreBeef(r) Mineral (A good all around mineral)
1-50 lb bag of Cargill Right Now(r) Emerald Mineral (A good spring mineral)
1-50 lb bag of Stock Salt
2-1 lb boxes of Baking Soda
2-2lb bags of Powder Sugar
1 container of Pre-Sweetened Grape Koolaid

I used the 2 separate free choice minerals for specific reasons, the NutreBeef Mineral, because it is an excellent all around mineral, that is very low in salt (max 20%), so you get more needed minerals per 50# bag that the deer can utilize. It also has dry molasses in it so it helps with palatability since most pure minerals tend to be bitter. The Cargill Emerald mineral is also a low salt mineral, but is a great spring mineral, that helps the deer in early spring to overcome their magnesium deficiency, the same as cattle before they are put on pasture in the spring. Both minerals have a good Calcium to Phosphorus ratio close to 2:1.

The reason for the baking soda, is, it acts as a rumen buffer, keeping the pH of their digestive tract in check, basically keeping stomach aches away. The plain stock salt is for spring and summer, as the deer will naturally go through a sodium deficiency because the moisture and potassium content of the lush green vegetation they eat, interferes with efficient sodium conversion in the body and increases the need for sodium. The sugar and koolaid is just for the initial wow factor, to help the deer locate the site, and is gone relatively quickly.