Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Need your opinions!!!

buckfever57

bowhunt or die
I am looking into buying a muzzleloader and have been looking at buying new. I've looked at Traditions CVA and Thompson Center. I was leaning towards the traditions bare gun and was gonna buy a Nikon inline xr scope when I buy the gun. Just recently I found someone selling their CVA optima Camo with thumbhole and has a cabelas 3x9x40 scope also come with 20 bullets powder pellets a sling and bullet starter. He is asking $350. Was wondering what you guys would recommend me doing. Is that a good price?? And I was also gonna see if could buy just the gun and put a scope on my self. What would it be worth just bare gun?? Thanks for the help. I'm new to muzzleloading so anything helps.

I have a T/C Encore SS thumb hole pro hunter with a Nikon Omega scope on it and love it and would buy another, however savage makes a ML that uses non black power powder I would definitely look at.

I bought a traditions w/thumbhole stock and put a Nikon Omega scope and love it! I don't know that there's a huge difference between the Traditions, CVA, T/C, probably a Ford/Chevy kind of thing. Each probably has their own positives/negatives but they should all kill deer just fine. If the CVA w/scope is relatively new and in good shape, $350 seems like an alright price to me (without knowing anything about the scope). For what it's worth, I got my Traditions and Nikon scope new for about $400 but those were both sale prices.

Assuming the gun/scope are in good shape and not real old, probably a good deal. Saw an Optima in camo/stainless with thumbhole for around that, maybe higher, without the scope, at Walmart. Camo/blued with regular stock was under $300. That's one I've been looking at, if I ever decide to/get the ok to buy a muzzy. For now, my brother's TC Black Diamond will have to do.