Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Public Land Deer Hunting?

meatcleaver

meatcleaver
Hello, im a Georgia resident and i want to come to iowa to hunt deer in a few years. I dont have much to spend so Im looking for some public hunting lands to hunt. I just want to kill a nice deer. It doesnt have to be a monster by Iowa standards. A 130 class would make my day. We dont have many big deer options in Georgia. Does anyone know of any good public hunting grounds? Im willing to hunt during any of the deer seasons. If someone could point me in the right direction I sure would appreciate it. Is it even worth me driving 11 hours to Iowa to hunt public land? Like I said, I just want to kill a nice one.Thanks Everyone

What would make it not worth it? Just because you come to IA does not mean you are going to get one.

Most of our public lands have great habitat, good deer numbers, and nice bucks. Depending on which zone you draw, you could have lots of options.

There are a lot of great public areas, how much do you hunt public down there? Do you plan to do a scouting trip to get the lay of the land(s)?

Hello, im a Georgia resident and i want to come to iowa to hunt deer in a few years. I dont have much to spend so Im looking for some public hunting lands to hunt. I just want to kill a nice deer. It doesnt have to be a monster by Iowa standards. A 130 class would make my day. We dont have many big deer options in Georgia. Does anyone know of any good public hunting grounds? Im willing to hunt during any of the deer seasons. If someone could point me in the right direction I sure would appreciate it. Is it even worth me driving 11 hours to Iowa to hunt public land? Like I said, I just want to kill a nice one.Thanks Everyone

Very good public areas in Iowa...study the counties drive up in spring...mark some spots

Get your points in