Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Questionable hit

cjgarrett

Hey guys,

Saturday, Nov 7th, I was able to release an arrow on the buck that i have been chasing for the last 2 years. Unfortunately that is the only good part of the story...

The deer showed himself at last light and presented a 22 yards broadside / quartering away shot. He might have been 10 degrees off of broadside... Anyways, my arrow hit 2/3rds the way up his body tight to the shoulder. Upon impact the buck jumped straight in the air and took off at a dead run with his head down. He continued to run out of sight. (125 yards). I gave him 2 hours and went back in to start tracking. To my surprise, i found my arrow 5 yards from impact with 6" broken off and blood 4" up the shaft. The blood was not great so we backed out for the night. The next morning we were able to pick up on the blood trail which fizzled out after 80 yards. The blood looked like lung blood but there was not a ton... I searched for 5 hours on Sunday and came up empty. Monday i went out and put up 5 cameras over corn to see if i could get pictures. (Im in Kansas) I went back out thursday and the cameras showed no sign of him. I decided to go walk the area i thought he was bedding and check a nearby pond. 35 minutes into my walk i bumped him right where i expected to find him. He let me get within 10 yards of him before he busted out. No blood in his bed and he ran off 100 miles per hour... I'm at a loss on this one. I put more corn out and figure i will give him a week to settle down and see if i can get him back on camera. If he is a no show again, i guess i go back to do a body search. Anyone else see anything like this? My only guess is that i hit the front of the near lung on the high side and then the arrow lodged in his off shoulder blade.

Shooting a 100 G5 Striker, 70 lb draw at 22 yards.