Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

"ROUNDUP"

HUSKERBUCK

PMA Member
Since the number of posts reguarding food plots has increased it made me think of something. In alot of the posts it is mentioned to use ROUNDUP on you plots as a burndown. Since I do this for a living I thought I would give everone some advice. Please dont buy "ROUNDUP". Go to a farm supply store or you local COOP and ask for a "loaded" generic glyfosate. This is the same exact thing as ROUNDUP. I can assure if you buy "ROUNDUP" you will just be wasting somewhere in the neighborhood of $50 to $75 for every 2 1/2 gallons, in addition to making Monsanto a little richer.. Generic glyfosate should cost you around $20 to $25 per gallon compared to $50 to $60 for "ROUNDUP" and it is the same exact thing. Dont let anyone sell you anything to go with it but some ammonium sulfate. This helps correct hard water problems with spraying glyfosate. Hope I can save someone some $$$. If you have anymore questions just ask.

HuskerBuck,

Thanks for the " heads up ". I know Roundup is a bit more expensive.... but most people I have talked with about ussing such chemicals for a burn-down or spraying RR Beans, still say to use the Roundup... in particular.. the weather max!! Are They just digging deeper into my wallet then they should?? What about the use of "Crop-oils" and other such additives they have tried to sell me? I have had some good sprays and some not so good sprays... either way they all ways seem to have the reason and it ussualy includes some more of my $$ one way or the other. Any pointers on applications would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Woody

I used the generic glycophosphate (sp?)on 2 acres of roundup ready beans that were weed infested pretty bad. It worked great. Bought 5 gallons from Farm & Home for around $60. cf