Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Strutter decoys

showstopper

PMA Member
I just wanted to get everyone's strategy/experiences with strutter decoys. I bought a DSD strutter and have the wing feathers and fan on the decoy. Had two big toms run in from 150 yds away just to stop at 50 yds and not fully commit. I didn't call until they hung up and then only purred. The stood there for nearly 30 minutes before some hens walked through stealing their attention.

My set up was the DSD breeder with a jake in front of the blind with the feeder and look out hen about 25 yards from the blind spread out in the field. The strutter was about ten yards past the blind from where the turkeys came from facing away from where the turkeys came from (as I expected). I'm relatively new to this so any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

It's hard saying what happened. Turkey hunting is always about second guessing and hind sight. We had success yesterday with a strutter, jake and two hens. I'm going to put the strutter away for the year. I only use it for youth season. Once season opens I will be using a jake and two hens and later in the year I will just use a lone hen. I'm a firm believer that just like the deer rut there is a magical 5-7 days where the toms are on fire and will come to about anything. You just have to keep after it and hunt as much as you can. It will happen. Don't get discouraged. Good luck