Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Value of Antlers

B

BSJelken

Were can one get a set of antlers appraised. I know the true value is really based on what the person buying the horn is willing to pay, but just curious of getting a round about value

BJelken,
Lope is gonna put the boot to ya...
grin.gif

I think there are some on ebay to get an idea. Hope this helps.

I know I'm a little backward but why do people buy antlers? I can't see why anyone would want to own a rack that someone else had killed either legally or illegally. I think it was a big mistake when Iowa made it legal to sell antlers other than sheds, and not require any kind of documentation. If you sell bear hides or parts, or bobcat, or lots of other things you must have documentation showing the animals were obtained legally, but not antlers.

I found a set of sheds that are over 200 inches and was wondering the value of them.
i'm new to this game and was just curious.

Bjelken,

Alot depends on the condition of the antlers, ...fresh and in perfect condition a true set of 200" sheds are worth good money. Also if they were typical you would really have something. With a picture I could probably come close to what they would bring. One guy might give twice of another if you are selling what he likes in an antler.

As to why anyone would buy someone else's antlers let me explain my reasons.....1st I respect the animal more than the guy that is selling them. Usually the guy doesn't give a darn about the antlers.....I do.
Antlers have always fasinated me and they always will....I decorate my home with them and just like being around them. I give them a better home than some that are thrown in the barn to rot.
wavey.gif

Thanks Iowabruce, I was thinking the same way. To me it's like buying a sculpture. One that nature made. If someone doesn't want it, I'll sure give it a place of honor.