Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Warm Camo Advise Needed

J

johnnyv

Hello all!
I have been visiting (lurking) for awhile just reading, got some arrow wraps, they are awesome.
I am relatively new to bowhunting and loving it!
I am planning to buy some cold weather camo and need some input.
I am looking at a jacket/pants of 430 gram fleece vs. Jacket/bibs with 7oz. quilted hollofil. The question is which is a better choice for bowhunting in IA. I think the hollofil will be warmer but the fleece quieter. What do you guys think? Other opinions on these two items appreciated as I am being more indecisive on this one than I can handle (I'm acting like my wife
blush.gif
)
Thanks,
John
newbie.gif

Thanks,
John

I can't help you much with your questions about the camo, but I'm sure other's will turn in some great advise soon.

However.....

waytogo.gif
Welcome to iowawhitetail johnnyv!
waytogo.gif

Use the layer system...nothing to big and bulky or you will have trouble moving and positioning for shots. If you think it might be to noisy it is!!!
good luck
893End-thumb[1].gif

i think they will both work great, i think the main thing is they got to be windproof, i bought my first pair of windproof bibs and coat and dont know how i ever lived without them, they are soo much warmer, the only thing i dont like about fleece, is the millions of burrs i seem to get into, anyways goodluck this year!!!!
beerchug.gif

Windproof material is very nice. Fleece is very quiet, but attracks many friends. Quiet material is a must. I recommend layering. The camo I wear all year is uninsulated. You learn how to dress to stay warm. My layering garments (fleece windstopper) are the key.