Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Putting a food plot in cedar thicket

deerhunter93

I have a 40 acre heavily timbered and heavy cedar property that I can put food plots on and I was wondering if there is anything I should take into consideration when chainsawing cedars and putting in a small 1/4-1/3 acre food plot next year? It is a mix of young cedars and grasses with pockets of thick/more mature cedars so I plan on just tackling the smaller cedars that are easier to take out with a chainsaw and that I can drag to the edge. I know a soil test will be beneficial and I'm sure the soils aren't going to be great. I'm thinking take out the cedars after deer season then I was wondering if I should spray glyphosate then burn, burn then spray, or just spray? Also, should I try buckwheat before a brassica or clover/rye/oats fall plot to help with weeds and build the soil? I'm all ears on suggestions since I'm new to the food plot stuff.

Thanks!
898cd5b93bb7aa9d3fd89e3aa3517ff9.jpg
a3382fef0615c0aa42807295109dbcd1.jpg
f8a0bcb0c5129256f1085dd214a006b4.jpg
3d9ba0e2e26c477466bd9c89c57b9e43.jpg
14a3c77757de8931cda70d932165e026.jpg
1983b42447b1da3f85840dec0749e6dd.jpg

Last edited:
I would pull them if possible. Root gone makes it much easier. Lots of contractors do it. Smaller stuff you can even hook a chain to a tractor or truck and yank them out yourself. If wanted to save the money you can flush cut them but then the stump remains to deal with for years.

Cedar areas I have always found to be low PH so plan on doing lime. Soil test is always great idea.

If its light grass, no need to burn. Just kill with gly and plant. If you have thick or heavy grass, I always start these new plots with a fire to get rid of the residue. One time deal, never have to burn again, but some of that grass gets so heavy and thick it is impossible to plant into without pushing it off or burning it up.