Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Smokeless ML Project

breckhawk

PMA Member
Thought it would be fun to share the progress of my smokeless build. Been talking to Luke at ASG and finally decided to bite the bullet. I opted for the rem 700 centerfire re-barrel option. I have built a few AR's and bedded a boyds stock on a rem 700 so i'm not a complete novice...but everything I have learned has been from youtube videos...and by no means am I a gunsmith. Hopefully in the end this will show how easy the process is and maybe someone else will decide to take the plunge after checking this out.

First step was to find a donor rifle. I went back and forth on a Remington UML for awhile. Spent a few trips going to pawn shops looking for something. Never quite could find one I liked. I wanted to find a donor that had a nice stock already to save a little money. A trip to Scheels in Omaha finally produced what I was looking for. They had put 2 Remington 700 Stainless 308 5R's on sale from $1100 down to $799. Score. The lowest I saw them online was for $850. Here I didn't have to worry about the transfer fees.

The nice thing about the 5R is that the barrel is pretty sought after. I shouldnt have a problem selling it on eBay after Luke removes it ($25 dollar charge). I have seen them go for $200-300 on there so that should drive the price of the donor gun/action down to about $550-600 net. You could do much cheaper...but with a brand new beautiful stainless action/jeweled bolt ($400) plus a nice HS Precision Stock ($350) it was pretty tough to pass up. Here is a link to the exact rifle:

https://www.remington.com/rifles/bolt-action/model-700/model-700-stainless-5-r

After a bit of back and forth I decided I really liked the jeweled bolt...but I liked the look of a fluted bolt better. I decided to go with Kampfeld Customs as I have never heard a bad thing about them. I also added