Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Youth gun?

newfarmer

So my daughter will more than likely try hunting in a few years but the wife gave me the go ahead now to get her a gun to prep. We are a bow family, and I don’t know squat about guns. My 12 ga is a tack driver (bird barrel and all). But I’m wanting to find something better for her, less recoils, etc. the way our property lays out- longest shot would ever be is 150 yards (not for the first couple years unless she shows great skills)
So what kind of options am I looking at? 20 gauge is what I originally wanted to go with- but then think a straight wall even though I’m not a fan at all …I was going to do a muzzleloader but cleaning is a pain and we don’t have a ton of time. So any help or direction would be great. Thanks

I am not a gun expert, but I am pretty sure I have seen cases where a 20 gauge kicks harder than some 12's. I know you said you were not a fan of straight walls, but from what I can tell, the right 350 legend is the best blend of deer killing power and light recoil for a youngster. At least the one that I have fits that bill, FWIW.

I too would prefer that straight wall cartridges not be allowed, but I just limit my shot distances, even with the rifle. I don't think I have ever taken a shot over 50 yards, definitely not over 75 yards, with it.

Agree with the 350 legend. Low recoil, definitely good to 150 yards. I purchased a CVA Cascade in 350 for my 8 year old. It has a spacer in the stock to shorten the length of pull. 600 dollar gun with a 1 moa guarantee. And a threaded barrel.
Good luck!

Thanks- I just want something that won’t end up scaring her. Even if it is a straight wall- like I said- I just know zero about guns so don’t even know which way to look. Thanks for the inputs!

Questions for you. Has she ever shot a gun before? How old is she? If she hasn't shot before, definitely start her out with a 22.