Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

20 ga. Slug Gun Scope/Load Questions

mplane72

PMA Member
I bought my son a Mossberg 20 ga. combo for his bday last November and I would like some opinions on a few things as I have little experience with slug guns.

1. The scope that came with it leaves a lot to be desired. Any suggestions? Something solid, that gathers a decent amount of light, but does not break the bank.

2. The slug barrel is the kind with the scope mount on the barrel. I believe this is known as a cantilever mount? Anyway, any of you guys find that you need to re-sight after changing from bird barrel to slug barrel or will it hold it's 0?

3. Any load suggestions? No drives for us. Just blinds and stands. I expect to have to try several loads to find what works best but some ideas where to start would be nice.

Thanks for any help offered.

There are a ton of quality shotgun scopes that won't break the bank, I like Nikon or Bushnell. Don't have any experience with cantilever barrels. I have great luck with the Hornady SST slugs, very accurate and affordable. You will have to shoot a few different brands of slugs to find out which perform best out of your gun but the Hornady SST's are a good place to start. A great slug for kids too, recoil is minimal.

What's an amount that you consider "breaking the bank"?

The cantilever should keep a zero, when switching back and forth.......but I would always go out and test shoot, to make sure it's still on target.

Lightfield makes a great slug, that should pair well with the Mossberg.
http://litfld.com/wp/?page_id=304

What's an amount that you consider "breaking the bank"?

Guess I'm not sure.

Another question? Does the scope really have to be a "shotgun" model? Esp. if it is just the cross hairs and not a ballistic reticle?