Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

after they lose velvet

bigbukfevr

Hey guys a quick question, say ive got a big buck spotted and somewhat patterned, in the next few weeks when he loses his velvet what can i expect him to do different from whats hes doin now? obviously he will start to rub on everything in sight but will he leave where he is staying right now or will he stay until we start havin some does cycling?

I am no expert on this but many things can change once they lose velvet. Their testosterone levels will increase and bucks will not tolerate each other near as much. If there are does, good cover, food, and water in the area I imagine he will remain close as long as he is the dominant buck and isn't ran off by another.

I am sure some others will have additional insight on the topic, it will be interesting to see what other factors determine the differences in summer/fall/rut/winter range of deer.

Good luck with the big one!

He will prly stay as long as he is not pressured. He may become more nocturnal, but should stay in the area.

I have seen it many times. Right when he loses his velvet he is going to disappear for a week or two. I am not sure why they do, but they sure seem to. It seems like if you can catch them on a field the last week of September you might have a shot at him. I have also seen them travel a mile after they shed. I would scout from far away heavily that least week for the season then hopefully he will show himself as long as the youth hunter haven't chased him around.