Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Alternative Funds for for Iowa DNR

miff007

I think often about DNR plans to increase revenue by increasing non -resident deer permits. I have a few ideas that have crossed my mind for alternative ways to increase revenue rather that flood the state with non-resident hunters, in a few years we could look like Northern Missouri 1,000's of hunters and low population of mature (free roaming) trophy bucks.

1- is to open the state to dove hunting and plant bait fields of sunflowers. Charge a fee of $10-$20 per gun to hunt opening weekend and on a decreasing scale as season slows down.

2- I travel for a living and it always puzzles me why the grass along the right of ways of interstates and highways is not bailed for hay and sold... DNR could use this resource and sell the hay for revenue. Obviously they could not plant crops because it would attract wildlife and increase auto-animal accidents, but the grass is already there just harvest it.

Any other creative ideas? Who knows maybe someday we could put together a proposal to the state.

1)
I think the state needs to get it so the dnr gets funds like MO. I believe they get like 1/2 of 1 cent that goes towards the state taxes. Now obviously they haven't done that great with that money to improve the deer herd but from friends who hunt waterfowl down there they claim they do a great job for improving waterfowl habitat with all the money they get from this.
2)
I would say you could increase the habitat stamps or raise the tag prices. I would pay $35 for an anysex tag not my first doe tag though.
3)
This will make NR's mad but economics tells me the supply and demand of the NR tags is quite different with the demand curve much higher than the supply. They could easily get $500 a tag with demand so high.
Now I would actually feel kind of bad if the NR had to pay that price for a deer tag but we are just throwing ideas out.
4)