Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Any Advice?

H

horst

Im fairly new to turkey hunting, Ive only went one year and that year i tried bowhunting them.Well I think Im gonna try it again this year, again with a bow.The last time I went I did manage to call 3 different turkeys in during the season, all in bowrange, but never managed to get drawn back on them.It was a blast and I liked the longer season you get with a bow even if I didnt get one.

I have 4 different mouth calls and a slate call, a hen decoy, and a ground blind.I didnt have the blind the last time I tried it so if anyone has any tips on hunting from one or on getting drawn back in one without being seen i could use em.

Ive also been practicing my calling but I know theres different noises I could be making with these calls than a yelp.Any good videos or anything you could recomend on the different sounds hens make?And whats a good locator call, I knew the last time I went where the turkeys were roosting but this year Im having more trouble finding them before season so I may need one of these calls.

And last thing I can think to ask is about decoys, any certain way i should set my decoy up to give me a better chance of getting drawn back?And should I get a jake decoy to go with the hen?

I plan to use the steelforce broadheads i used to hunt deer, they have a wide cutting edge and do a lot of damage, and they also fly great.Ive seen stops you put behind the broadhead to keep them from passing through, are these nessacary?

Anyway, sorry about all the questions, last time i went i didnt have a clue what i was doing and kinda made things up as i went, it worked but i thought maybe getting some good advice beforehand might save me a lotta headaches in a couple weeks LOL.
doah.gif

horst