Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Are we making progress?

dbltree

Super Moderator
I've been managing my land with QDM practices for over 10 years now. Like most of you, I try to provide the best in nutrition, cover, harvesting does and letting the small ones walk.
Years ago I would see at least several mature bucks in daylight hours and never ever saw a spike.
Now I see spikes daily and I'm lucky to see one or two mature bucks all season...either by hunting or trail cam.
My property is seperated by nearly 20 miles...but I see the same both places
confused.gif

I see plenty of 2 1/2 year old bucks and one would think that at least a percentage would survive another year or two.
I know we have a serious poaching problem and poachers have advanced their tactics with range finders and night vision equipment. I always find headless bucks...too many...

Not sure about the spikes...too many deer? So many bucks that big mature bucks are breeding fewer does?

Maybe it's just me...obviously their are some good bucks out there but I wonder if all the noteriety of Iowas quality bucks isn't increasing pressure by poachers each year?

Used to be hunters just shot whatever they drove out and called it good...is there to much pressure by more hunters to take a limited number of mature bucks?

Just wondering what you guys think...is the quality of your deer getting better, staying the same or declining?