Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Broadhead tuning question...

soofoocoo4

I am fairly new to the sport of bowhunting and brand new to this forum and I am trying to learn as much as I possibly can. There are some things that are still a little confusing for me though. So hopefully you guys will be able to clarify some things for me. I recently went down to my local bow shop and we paper tuned my bow. We got my bow to shoot perfect bullet holes. I was excited to get home and shoot my bow at my target from different distances and with my broadheads. My broadheads were shooting left just a little bit. So I came inside and started researching. Absolutely everywhere I read says that I need to broadhead tune and move my rest to the right until my broadheads meet up with my fieldpoints and then adjust my sight accordingly. I could just do that and not be so curious, but I am trying to learn the ins and outs of bowhunting and want to know why I am doing certain things to my bow! So, why in the world did we paper tune down at the shop and now I need to move my rest to fix my broadheads? Wouldn't the rest adjustment make my bow out of tune now? Why wouldn't I just move my sight?

(This is why I am confused.) After reading articles online and doing some research I went back down to the bow shop. The owner of the shop said that you never move your rest after paper tuning. He states that after paper tuning, the rest of your adjustments for your fieldpoints and broadheads should be with your sight. Great! So I am turning to you guys to straighten me out here! I would appreciate any help/insight on why I need to move my rest or maybe you agree with my bow shop. Thanks guys!!

"The owner of the shop said that you never move your rest after paper tuning. He states that after paper tuning, the rest of your adjustments for your fieldpoints and broadheads should be with your sight." :rolleyes: