Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Bullet questions for new CVA Optima V2

cjc77z4

Hi everyone...I am new to muzzleloading and have found that this his a whole different animal to anything that I have done. I have been reading on here for a while....trying to narrow down what I want to shoot out of my Optima. I really wanted to try Barnes TEZ due to their raving reviews. So here's where I am at.

Went to Scheels today and picked up some white hots and some Hornady SST Low Drag 250 grain. I wanted the Barnes tez also but they only had the expander mz 250 and 300. I have read that people can't get these down the barrel of the Optima V2 l.....that's why i wanted the TEZ.

Well I get to looking and they had Remington Premeir Accutip sabots in stock. I get to reading and it's basically a Barnes TEZ 250 with a green sabot that is made to shoot out of the Remington Ultimate Muzzleloader ONLY.

My question is...can I shoot these out of the Optima V2 as is? second....I have thought about putting the Barnes TEZ in to the red sabot that came with the Hornady SST 250's. I have read that people have had success with that. Lastly.....what other sabots should I look at to pair with the Barnes TEZ 250?

Any help would be appreciated.

Might want to look at Parker bullets. I personally have not shot them but I just learned about them myself A disabled vet I took hunting told me how great they were with expansion, penetration, and blood trails. I was very skeptical and told him so but the two deer that were shot that trip, the bullets had great penetration, quarter size entrance and exit holes, and a blood trail even I(I'm color blind) could follow easily. Usually I need snow to follow a trail. The ones he was using were the ones with the black tip but not the match hunter ones. I will be using them next year.

The Parkers BE's are a very accurate bullet, either 250 gr or the 275 gr, So are the Harvester PT GOLDS.