Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Calls

Fishbonker

Life Member
I need advice on good brands of calls. After reading the posts on here about what calls a beginner should try I bought a box and a pot call and took them back. The box call was a MAD with metal sides. It sounded like a tin can, go figure. The pot call was plastic and I don’t remember if the face was slate or glass, but it just didn’t have a “soul”. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never used a turkey call before and my only frame of reference are the sounds that Muddy made last spring that he said were turkey sounds. I still think the turkey I shot was just strolling by and didn’t respond to the sounds he was making.

These may have been good calls and as a beginner I couldn’t get the good sounds out of them.

So who makes a good box call?

Why do some of them have rubber bands?

What should I look for in a good box call?

Do they all take chalk?

My purchases at the DEER Classic will be TURKEY gear. Go figure. Actually there may be a beer in it for somebody at the Classic to “guide” me through all the booths with calls so I can buy something that is well made, that works well and will last for years.

The ‘Bonker

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Fishbonker</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
My purchases at the DEER Classic will be TURKEY gear. Go figure. Actually there may be a beer in it for somebody at the Classic to “guide” me through all the booths with calls so I can buy something that is well made, that works well and will last for years. The ‘Bonker
</div></div>

I'm in.
For $10.00 for a bottle of beer I will be your guide. Shoot for two beers I will even teach you how to use them. /forum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif