Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Deer decoys

G

What brand of decoys do you guys prefer, if you use them, and how much success have you had with them. Do you use them as bucks or does?

i dont know what brand my cousins is but this past season they got on video of a 150in. buck just nail the decoy it ran off so they went out and set it back up and ten minutes later it came back and they got the shot on video. it is in the photo gallery under his name is Wayne Wincell

Flambeau Carry Lite - what can I say, sometimes it works like you have them on a string and realiing them right in and other times (due to set up) it is pure agonizing. BUT IT IS WORTH IT!

I have a Flambeau Redi-Doe and I have had a lot of great experiences with it. My son shot a buck while it was actually touching his nose on the decoy's nose. Problem is the paint is flaking off real bad and I can't get them to do anything about it. Guess I'll have to repaint it myself.

Have you guys ever tried using your 3D target for this? I was thinking of doing that next year but couldn't decide if it would hold my scent from practicing or not. I know it would look a little torn up from shooting at it but that would just add to the 3D effect, right? Plus I'd save a couple hundred $$ if I could use it.

I used a 3-D target for one season and quickly bought a carry lite decoy. The 3-D was a pain to carry in and out and set up. I'd buy the decoy and leave the target at home. I saw the video of the Winchell buck. If you see that video you'll buy the decoy, it is awesome.

I also use the Carry-Lite, I don't like the posture of the flambeau--just a personal preference.

I won't bring my decoy out until the last weekend in October. I'm afraid that the deer will figure out that something's bogus if I use it too much. During the rut it can be very deadly when used with a grunt call.